Fire Restrictions in Force

Fire-fighters efforts recognised at annual ‘night of nights’

Fire-fighters efforts recognised at annual ‘night of nights’

A number of our volunteers were recognised for their ongoing contribution to the CFA at our annual mid-year dinner last night. Over 60 people attended our annual dinner and were treated to a two course meal at the Riddells Creek Hotel.

Those members who had made a significant contribution to the brigade during the past year were congratulated by being presented with the following awards:

  • Dawn Ciechomski – Firefighter of the year
  • Ben Monk – 1st Lieutenants encouragement award
  • Steph Schade – Recruit firefighter of the year

A special moment of the night saw firefighters Michael Hemingway and Gill Metz awarded the National Medal. The National Medal is Australia’s most awarded civilian medal and recognises long and diligent service of at least 15 years. This award recognises prolonged exposure to hazard in the service of the community.

National Medal holders can also be eligible for National Medal clasps for each subsequent 10 years of diligent service. In the case of firefighter Marcus Bootle (an existing National Medal recipient), two National Medal clasps were presented to Marcus.

The night also featured the presentation of National Emergency Medals to firefighters Eric Jurrjens and Darren Broughton for the service they provided during the 2009 Black Saturday Bushfires. The National Emergency Medal may be awarded to those who rendered sustained service during specified dates in response to a nationally significant emergency.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *